Members of the Herd

Search PetsWeekly

All About Horses
Review of Healthy Horse Hors D’oeuvres PDF Print E-mail
Written by Katriona   
Friday, 10 April 2015 22:20

The owner of Healthy Horse Hors D’oeuvres sent me several of their delectable flavors to offer my herd.  I say delectable because these darn well smell good enough to eat! The ingredients are human grade, and there are no chemicals so I’d say you can probably try them.  Lucky horses get all the good stuff.

The flavors that arrived were: Oatmeal Raisin, Cranberry Spice, Carrot Cake, Ginger Snap, Cranberry Mint, Caramel Apple, and Blueberry Muffin.

First Impressions

So the first impression upon opening the package was the wonderful smell.  I made the mistake of putting the package close to the turnout while I grabbed my camera, and my OTTB was trying to open the package and sneak some.  Instantly upon opening I was mobbed by the whole herd.  They really wanted those cookies. 


Last Updated on Friday, 10 April 2015 22:42
Read more...
 
How to Choose A Farrier PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Saturday, 01 November 2014 00:00

The most important things you can do for your horse includes feeding a balanced diet and providing proper care for their feet. Choosing a farrier is as important, or more so, than choosing a veterinarian or boarding facility.

Finding the right farrier will take time, but avoiding lifelong injury or crippling your horse due to improper shoeing will save you thousands of dollars, and a lot of heartache, in the long run.

Here are some tips on how to find a farrier (horseshoer or blacksmith) and why it's so important to select a great person to work with your horse.


Last Updated on Saturday, 18 October 2014 15:27
Read more...
 
Teaching Children to Approach Horses PDF Print E-mail
Written by Katriona Lindstrom   
Wednesday, 30 July 2014 00:00

I have noticed something lately: parents letting their kids just run up to strange animals. In fact today, a very young child somehow made it underneath the stomach of my blind horse.

I can't begin to express the danger that a 1,300 lb animal presents to a 30 lb child - especially one who can't see the child!  I am grateful that my hooved partner is so responsive to what I say and stood firmly. If not, this child could have easily been killed.  I can't imagine what could have happened had my horse been a younger or more reactive animal.

Allowing your child to run up to an unknown animal, or approaching one yourself, can be very dangerous.  It doesn't matter how well-trained or well-behaved an animal is, approaching them blindly is dangerous. By not teaching proper etiquette, a child's, an animal's, the handler's, and possibly your own life may be at risk.  Don’t risk yourself or your children.


Last Updated on Friday, 01 August 2014 21:48
Read more...
 
Cashel Crusader Fly Mask Review PDF Print E-mail
Written by Katriona Lindstrom   
Saturday, 07 June 2014 00:00

I recently received 3 fly masks to review from Cashel. To begin with, I like the packaging. The zippered bag is a good way to store your fly mask for the off season (though we don't have much of one here in Arizona).  It is sturdier than just a thin cardboard box like other masks come in, or a thin plastic bag.  The closest thing to it would be the packaging a comforter comes in.  The front of the board in the package has all the information you need and it is VERY clear what size you have. 

The back of the board in the bag has a size guide.  This guide is more helpful than some other brands, as it shows how to measure and what size the measurements correlate to.  This is more exact than going by just weight.  I have purchased fly masks in the past, based on weight, but they did not fit any of my horses.

Cashel has put a lot of thought into sizing and while it's not perfect, it's closer than most.


Last Updated on Saturday, 07 June 2014 17:17
Read more...
 
For Horse-Crazy Girls Only: Everything You Want to Know About Horses PDF Print E-mail
Written by The Bookworm   
Wednesday, 16 February 2011 06:47

Horsing around is the best thing in your life.

Your bedroom walls are covered with posters of ponies. You’ve drawn dobbins all over your notebooks in school. When you say “dam”, it’s a good thing, and your favorite cuddle-up blanket just happens to have hooves on it.

Nobody could mistake you for anything other than the horsey girl you are. So why not brush up on mucking out, cooling down, and more by reading “For Horse-Crazy Girls Only” by Christina Wilsdon, illustrated by Alecia Underhill?

Whether you have a horse or you don’t, you probably spend a lot of time dreaming about everything equine. That’s the best thing about this book: Christina Wilsdon is horse-crazy, too, and she’s got lots of things to tell you.


Read more...
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 Next > End >>

Page 1 of 2
RocketTheme Joomla Templates
Copyright ©2004 PetsWeekly All Rights Reserved