Search PetsWeekly

Book Reviews of Dog Books
Books for Dog Lovers: In Dogs We Trust PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Sunday, 13 July 2014 00:00

When I first met Lon Hodge and his wonder dog, Gander, at BlogPaws this year, I didn't know of their fame. But after meeting them, I can totally understand why they are such a beloved couple. Their travels take them around the world, and Gander is their selected leader, guide to this veteran and his travels.

In Dogs We Trust: Tales of Unconditional Love, Inspiration and Service is a lovingly selected collection of short stories selected by Hodge and Gander. You’ll experience nearly every emotion as you read this anthology - from essays about the inner workings of a dog’s mind to the love and loss we all experience with our pets.


Read more...
 
The Healthy Hound Cookbook PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Friday, 02 May 2014 00:00

We have had some really great books in for review this month. If you're an animal lover, who is interested in making your own treats for your pets, you won't want to miss this one from Paris Permenter and John Bigley, the very talented husband and wife team behind DogTipper and CatTipper. In case you didn't know, this is one of the most prolific couples out there and The Healthy Hound Cookbook marks their 33rd book in print!

The Healthy Hound Cookbook includes 125 easy-to-make recipes for your pets, including grain-free, Paleo and raw recipes.

So, why make your own treats for your pets? As you well know, the pet food industry is rife with problems - especially when it comes to imported treats from China. Better to have control over your pet treats, and you can't have better quality control than when you make the treats yourself!


Last Updated on Sunday, 20 April 2014 18:38
Read more...
 
Hit By A Flying Wolf: Book Review PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Thursday, 17 April 2014 00:00

Those of you who have been with me from the beginning know that the reason I began PetsWeekly is because I had two wolf hybrids and a bunch of half-wild cats, and that our journey together is what brought this site to life. We had to learn how to live with three very distinct species (coyotes/wolves, cats and humans) in the same home. (See Falling Into the Food Chain)

I named my second wolf hybrid, Aquila. It is a roman cognomen, which means “eagle” in Latin and “Spirit” in other languages.  I called her that because the first time we met, she sailed over my head, out of the pickup truck of the woman who dropped her off to me. She was my “flying wolf.”

For this reason, I couldn’t wait to read renowned author Nicole Wilde’s most recent book, “Hit by a Flying Wolf: True Tales of Rescue, Rehabilitation and Real Life with Dogs and Wolves .” When I finally got the chance, I was absolutely smitten with her humorous (and sometimes heartbreaking) stories of her life with wolves.


Last Updated on Thursday, 17 April 2014 01:52
Read more...
 
Animal Author Interview: Amy Shojai PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Thursday, 28 March 2013 00:00

Lost and Found
by Amy Shojai
c. 2012,  Cool Gus Publishing, 252 pages
$11.99 paperback / $4.99 ebook

There are many types of books in the world and like me, many authors who once focused on nonfiction are now moving to fantasy and thrillers. It makes for some fascinating reading for animal lovers who cannot bear to be parted from animals even in their reading.

It is with great pleasure that we were able to interview a few of our animal-writers-turned-thriller-writers.We are starting out with Amy Shojai, author of the newest thriller, Lost and Found. This novel explores the role of a service dog named Shadow in protecting an autistic boy after he disappears in a freak blizzard only to fall prey to an evil medical experiment that could potentially impact millions. September Day, an animal behaviorist, must overcome her own demons of a murdered husband and a ruined career, to help save this young boy before its too late.


Last Updated on Monday, 25 March 2013 20:08
Read more...
 
Two Seeing Eye Dogs Take Manhattan: A Love Story PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Wednesday, 03 October 2012 19:17

When it comes to assistance dogs, we think every one of them are heroes. But, the story of Hickory and Kemp, the two seeing eye dogs belonging to Lloyd Burlingame are something extra special.

Two Seeing Eye Dogs Take Manhattan is told from the point of view of the dogs, who are high-spirited with a rollicking sense of humor. They refer to their human as “the old prof” and give us a dog’s eye view of what it’s like to navigate the bustling city of Manhattan (and many other locales). From an adventure to Austria to shopping trips in the city, it’s easy to see how these two dogs have skyrocketed to the top of reading lists.


Last Updated on Thursday, 21 March 2013 16:00
Read more...
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 Next > End >>

Page 1 of 4

Free Stuff

Today's Pet

RocketTheme Joomla Templates
Copyright ©2004 PetsWeekly All Rights Reserved