Search PetsWeekly

Book Reviews of Dog Books
Hit By A Flying Wolf: Book Review PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Thursday, 17 April 2014 00:00

Those of you who have been with me from the beginning know that the reason I began PetsWeekly is because I had two wolf hybrids and a bunch of half-wild cats, and that our journey together is what brought this site to life. We had to learn how to live with three very distinct species (coyotes/wolves, cats and humans) in the same home. (See Falling Into the Food Chain)

I named my second wolf hybrid, Aquila. It is a roman cognomen, which means “eagle” in Latin and “Spirit” in other languages.  I called her that because the first time we met, she sailed over my head, out of the pickup truck of the woman who dropped her off to me. She was my “flying wolf.”

For this reason, I couldn’t wait to read renowned author Nicole Wilde’s most recent book, “Hit by a Flying Wolf: True Tales of Rescue, Rehabilitation and Real Life with Dogs and Wolves .” When I finally got the chance, I was absolutely smitten with her humorous (and sometimes heartbreaking) stories of her life with wolves.


Last Updated on Thursday, 17 April 2014 01:52
Read more...
 
Two Seeing Eye Dogs Take Manhattan: A Love Story PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Wednesday, 03 October 2012 19:17

When it comes to assistance dogs, we think every one of them are heroes. But, the story of Hickory and Kemp, the two seeing eye dogs belonging to Lloyd Burlingame are something extra special.

Two Seeing Eye Dogs Take Manhattan is told from the point of view of the dogs, who are high-spirited with a rollicking sense of humor. They refer to their human as “the old prof” and give us a dog’s eye view of what it’s like to navigate the bustling city of Manhattan (and many other locales). From an adventure to Austria to shopping trips in the city, it’s easy to see how these two dogs have skyrocketed to the top of reading lists.


Last Updated on Thursday, 21 March 2013 16:00
Read more...
 
Book Review: Sergeant Rex: The Unbreakable Bond Between a Marine and His Military Working Dog PDF Print E-mail
Written by Terri Schlichenmeyer   
Monday, 18 June 2012 20:10

Sergeant Rex: The Unbreakable Bond Between a Marine and His Military Working Dog
by Mike Dowling
c.2011, Atria Books, 304 pages                          
$26.00 / $29.99 Canada                        

These days, you sleep pretty well at night.

Oh, sure, there are things that could keep you awake. Mostly, though, you’re tucked into bed when darkness comes and you close your eyes, knowing that you’re safe. The reason is because you trust the men and women who sacrifice to keep this country secure. Also, you’ve got your dog nearby and he’s always on alert.

And sometimes, as you’ll see in the new book “Sergeant Rex” by Mike Dowling, it’s a little of both.

Growing up in the San Francisco area, the fourth of six children, Mike Dowling says that there were always animals around.


Last Updated on Thursday, 21 March 2013 15:59
Read more...
 
Book Review: Sophie, The Incredible True Story of the Castaway Dog PDF Print E-mail
Written by Terri Schlichenmeyer   
Monday, 18 June 2012 20:03

Sophie: The Incredible True Story of the Castaway Dog
by Emma Pearse
c.2012, Da Capo Lifelong Books          
$25.00 / $29.00 Canada                  
320 pages

Once upon a time, you had living room furniture that wasn’t covered in fur.

It wasn’t scuffed by paw prints or mashed down from repeated turn-before-laying-down rotations. Before your couch pup-tato claimed that couch, the cushions were firm, not flat, and were acceptable for guests.

Still, can you blame Poochie for taking over your sofa? You’d hate having to lie around on the floor all day, too.

So how surprised would you be if Fido pulled a Phelps by performing a swimming feat that still astounds experts?  Read about a dog that did, in the new book “Sophie: The Incredible True Story of the Castaway Dog” by Emma Pearse.


Last Updated on Thursday, 21 March 2013 16:01
Read more...
 
“The Dog Who Danced” by Susan Wilson PDF Print E-mail
Written by Terri Schlichenmeyer   
Monday, 18 June 2012 19:57

The Dog Who Danced by Susan Wilson
c.2012, St. Martin’s Griffin,  320 pages               
$24.99 / $28.99 Canada                    
---
Who could resist that little urchin face?

The dog staring at you from your computer screen sure was a cutie. He was a stray, found wandering nearby and nobody came to claim him.

Tempting.  But wasn’t someone missing that sweet boy?  How could anybody refuse those please-love-me eyes?
Alice and Ed Parmalee couldn’t, that’s for sure. It was easy to fall in love with the sheltie dog and he was obviously abandoned, but in the new novel “The Dog Who Danced” by Susan Wilson, keeping him might be a delicate ballet.

Justine Meade was certain that the phone call had been just another obligation.


Last Updated on Thursday, 21 March 2013 16:01
Read more...
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 Next > End >>

Page 1 of 4

Free Stuff

Today's Pet

RocketTheme Joomla Templates
Copyright ©2004 PetsWeekly All Rights Reserved