Search PetsWeekly

Product Reviews
Safe Treats for Dogs and Cats PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Thursday, 24 October 2013 18:46

This week, the FDA released a “progress report” on its investigation into jerky treats. The update is essentially that there is no progress and it’s still a “buyer beware” situation for anyone who feeds chicken, duck, turkey or sweet potato treats made from China to their pets.

You can read the full report here, but as of September 24, 2013, FDA has received more than 3000 complaints of illness related to consumption of chicken, duck, or sweet potato jerky treats, nearly all of which are imported from China. The reports involve more than 3600 dogs, 10 cats and include more than 580 deaths. And that’s just what has been reported...

This is why it’s so important to know where your pets treats are not only manufactured, but where the ingredients are sourced. We want to tell you about some safe treats for your pets that can be shared with either species and contains only ingredients guaranteed sourced from reputable suppliers, and manufactured in the good ole U S of A. Here are a few of our dogs and cats favorite treats from the top sources you can rely on.


Last Updated on Friday, 25 October 2013 16:49
Read more...
 
Long Weekends and Sick Animals PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Thursday, 24 October 2013 00:00

Since becoming a full time writer, I've started to dread long weekends. For me, and other entrepreneurs like me, long weekends have come to mean banking delays, calls that go unreturned, and almost always, unplanned trips to the emergency vet.

It goes without saying that long holiday weekends is always when my pets get sick or injured. It's just the rule of living with animals. This is what happened with Brock this past Labor Day.

At first, I was frustrated because we can barely afford scheduled veterinary visits; emergency vet trips are way outside our budget. But as always, we find a way to make it work. And, on the bright side, I realized it would give me time to review some key products that I haven't had the opportunity to use. Here are a few things we were able to try and things that I would strongly recommend if your pet injures their legs, their paws or their hips.


Last Updated on Monday, 21 October 2013 05:37
Read more...
 
Flor Carpet Squares for Pet-friendly Design PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Saturday, 05 October 2013 19:04

Ever since we put in our cat enclosure, we’ve been searching for the perfect flooring material. We finally found it. Today we want to share with you a look at Flor carpet design squares – a great flooring alternative for stylish, pet-friendly design!

As you all know, we moved our colony of feral and semi-feral cats with us a few years ago. There were a lot of reasons for doing this, but safety was the number one factor. Since we now live in a remote area, we built an indoor-outdoor enclosure for our wilder cats. The outdoor enclosure requires nothing but easy access, fun places to hide, and some nice indoor/outdoor furniture to lounge upon. But our indoor area needed something that the cats wouldn’t be able to tear apart, was easy to clean, was both warm (in winter) and cool (in summer), and still looked nice.

Flor delivered on every level…

Not only have they held up to the abuse our extremely pet-friendly home reigns down on all types of flooring, but they have retained their beautiful colors, held up to sharp claws without snagging, and remain simple to clean. Flor has indeed set a new standard for fashion and utility in our home.

Whether you have cats, dogs, ferrets or kids – this is a perfect flooring solution for kitchens, mud rooms, TV rooms, and more. Any place you need a comfortable, secure surface that is easily cleaned and very fashionable.

 


Last Updated on Friday, 18 October 2013 17:37
Read more...
 
New Ways To Pill Your Dogs PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Monday, 21 October 2013 00:00

Recently, we had to take Brock in for an emergency. We weren't sure what was happening at the time, but as it turns out, he had gotten a little "weed that shall not be named" (a foxtail) caught in his foot. The small foxtail embedded itself so completely, we didn't know it was there. Brock's foot became infected, which caused a fever, which spiked his heart-rate and it was a whole thing... Anyway - you can read more about it here if you're interested. But, today we are talking about ways to medicate your pets.

Luckily for us, Brock is super easy to medicate. Actually, since we started feeding The Honest Kitchen, all of our dogs are very easy to medicate. They eat twice a day, so we just drop any medication in the food, stir, and everyone is totally happy to consume it.

But, there are a lot of dogs that are not easy to medicate and who are onto every trick in the book. Well, we've got some new tricks...


Last Updated on Friday, 18 October 2013 16:49
Read more...
 
Costume or Paint: Options for Dressing up Dogs PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Tuesday, 01 October 2013 00:00

Before I begin, I want to reiterate that I am usually not a fan of dressing your dog or cat up for Halloween. However, we have had many requests over the year asking us about safe costumes or options for pets during the holiday, which is why I have made an exception to my rule, "I will never dress my pets up for a holiday." And you know what? We actually had a lot of fun doing it!

These days, there are a lot of safe options for dressing up your pet and because we want to make sure everyone is doing it safely, we are going to discuss a few of our favorites. Animal Planet has come out with some brilliant new costumes for your pets. In this picture, Brock models the Stegosaurus costume. They also have sharks, lions, Tyranosaurus Rex and even some fun costumes that are also a little silly (like the Silver Starlet or Cupcake costumes).


Last Updated on Tuesday, 01 October 2013 05:48
Read more...
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 8 of 31
RocketTheme Joomla Templates
Copyright ©2004 PetsWeekly All Rights Reserved