Search PetsWeekly

Product Reviews
The Honest Kitchen: A Brief Look PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Thursday, 14 February 2013 19:40

As you know, we don't do many pet food reviews. There are a few reasons for this. First, I don't feel anywhere qualified enough to do pet food reviews as they relate to nutrition, sourcing of ingredients, processes, etc. Second, our "go-to" pet food resource is Dog Food Advisor and TruthAboutPetFood.com (we highly recommend that you visit these sites if you haven't already) for any questions you have about pet food.

That said, we have been so very impressed with The Honest Kitchen after a recent feeding two-month feeding trial with our pets, that it has become our main pet food and we thought it would be unfair not to share this with you. (Also, we wanted to show you the new toy that we have for our dogs so they can get a treat and exercise at the same time - I promise you'll want one of these...)


Last Updated on Monday, 22 April 2013 19:53
Read more...
 
Types of Collars and How to Select PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Monday, 11 February 2013 20:51

Image Courtesy of Tasman PetWe live in an age of luxurious simplicity and nothing reflects that more than our pets collars. They all still serve a function, but these days we are seeking out collars that reflect a message of our individuality. And of course, that of our dogs.

This is a quick look at the different types of dog collars and how each of them function, as well as the purpose they serve. We would love to hear about your favorite types in the comments.

Martingale

These “limited slip” collars are frequently seen on dogs with long, slender necks – such as the greyhound. They are designed to prevent dogs from slipping out of collars while walking as the collar tightens with a tug of the leash. Often, you’ll see a stopping mechanism to prevent a collar from choking a dog.


Last Updated on Saturday, 09 March 2013 19:07
Read more...
 
Stylish Winter Fashion for Pets PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Tuesday, 18 December 2012 21:01

It’s winter time, which means it’s cold. Why, here in Arizona – it may even drop as low as forty degrees! (Yes, I am being sarcastic.) But the sad truth of the matter is our 65-pound pampered pups, who spend most all of their day in our company and therefore have very little exposure to the outdoors, have to wear a coat in winter.

I admit this is not my proudest moment. While I think it’s super cute that small dogs get the honor of being warm (and looking adorable), I don’t personally like dressing big dogs up, and my coyote would have laughed me out of the room had I tried to make him wear a jacket. But the fact is that our spoiled, thin-coated dogs, Brock and Bree, need to wear a warm jacket when the temp drops below fifty degrees.

So, we got them coats. We have some extra large ones because they are extra large dogs (and very destructive). But, as we searched for something a little more stylish (they are trendsetters, you know), we ran across a group called Bark Baby Bark. They have some of the cutest fashions we’ve seen – many of them crocheted doggy wear – and all of them high-end dog apparel.


Last Updated on Saturday, 09 March 2013 22:44
Read more...
 
Preventing Accidental Overdose in Pets PDF Print E-mail
Written by Pack Leader   
Monday, 21 January 2013 18:37

An estimated one-half of all patients in the United States fail to take their medications as prescribed and the averages are even higher for pet parents whose pets need medication. It's far too easy to forget when your pet's last dose of medication was, or to have a family member give an extra dosing by accident. This is why I was extremely happy to find the Rx Timer Cap.

The Rx Timer CapTM is a digital cap timer that shows the amount of time it’s been since you’ve last taken your dose of medication. It’s the perfect tool for managing your own, and your pets medicine. The timer on the cap works like a stopwatch, counting the time since your medication was last taken, and resets itself every time the container is opened or closed.

For example, Bree has an ear infection and is on amoxicillin twice a day. Every 12 hours, my husband and I have to remember to give her a pill. That may sound simple, but if you're dealing with your own medication, or your spouse or kids or parents medication, dosing can quickly become overwhelming and good intentions can become deadly in a heartbeat.


Last Updated on Wednesday, 30 January 2013 18:02
Read more...
 
Gourmet Treats At Home with Sunbeam Treat Maker PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Monday, 05 November 2012 22:57

Take a step back, Gordon Ramsay. This year, pet parents will be spending their holidays developing creative cookie recipes not only for their human family, but for their pet family as well. Sunbeam Pets has just put a new Treat Maker on the market that makes gourmet treats a breeze.

Whether it’s a new “roasted buffalo, sweet potato and cranberry” concoction or a “pan-seared bacon with cranberries and quinoa” biscuit, developing gourmet pet treat recipes is where things are headed.

With the government still puzzled over the source of contamination in jerky treats from China, pet parents are stepping up to take control of their best-friends treat menu. This is a great way to offer your pets some high-quality, gourmet treats without breaking the bank – an important consideration in today’s economic climate.


Last Updated on Friday, 20 September 2013 03:13
Read more...
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 8 of 28
RocketTheme Joomla Templates
Copyright ©2004 PetsWeekly All Rights Reserved