Search PetsWeekly

Product Reviews
Clearing the Air with A BlueAir 203 PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Friday, 08 November 2013 15:37

There are many air purifiers on the market these days. As pollution is on the rise, so are medical issues that relate to breathing, including asthma and allergies. If you don’t have any problems yet, congrats. But if you do, or if you have been experiencing a general “malaise” then listen up: It could be your air quality.

We had the opportunity to review the Blueair 203W HepaSilent Air-Purification System and after two months of it running in one of the dustiest areas of the country, I can officially report that I love having this unit in place. The 203 features electronic particle and gas sensors that confirm the unit is effectively removing allergens, which includes pollen, DUST, and even pet dander. It monitors itself – so you don’t have too!

The 203 is designed for rooms up to 240 square feet, but our floor plan is pretty open, which means it was constantly cleaning at least half of our 2,200 square feet home. That also means it is completely recycling the air twelve times per day – pretty amazing for such a small unit. Even more impressive is the fact that it costs no more than running a single light bulb.


Last Updated on Friday, 08 November 2013 15:58
Read more...
 
Stick-n-Find: GPS Trackers for Everything PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Wednesday, 06 November 2013 00:00

I lose everything. Seriously. I lose pens, phones, and keys. I lose my car in mall parking lots at least half a dozen times a month, wandering around searching through aisle after aisle of vehicles in the summer heat. It’s not because I’m an idiot, it’s because I have a hard time focusing on one thing long enough to recall where I set something down. It’s probably a really good thing that I never had kids, because I can totally imagine myself setting them down on a store counter, seeing something shiny, and completely forgetting that I ever had kids.

So, I was completely excited about the new Stick-N-Find Bluetooth Location Tracker when it arrived for review. This is a small sticker that utilizes Bluetooth technology to locate your missing item. Or pet. Or kid. Or car.

It comes in a package of two stickers and it can be used on iPhone, iPad, iPad Touch, and Android devices – it only needs a Bluetooth to connect. Download the app, name the sticker and what it’s on, and you’re off and running.

Once you place the sticker on your item that you lose (it’s only about the size of a quarter), you can begin tracking it within 150 yards. The app will seek out the item and tell you if you’re getting closer or further away, which direction you need to go, and when you’ve come up on it. In addition, it lights up and makes a buzzing sound so you know you’re close and can go to the exact spot.


Last Updated on Monday, 21 October 2013 05:38
Read more...
 
Long Weekends and Sick Animals PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Thursday, 24 October 2013 00:00

Since becoming a full time writer, I've started to dread long weekends. For me, and other entrepreneurs like me, long weekends have come to mean banking delays, calls that go unreturned, and almost always, unplanned trips to the emergency vet.

It goes without saying that long holiday weekends is always when my pets get sick or injured. It's just the rule of living with animals. This is what happened with Brock this past Labor Day.

At first, I was frustrated because we can barely afford scheduled veterinary visits; emergency vet trips are way outside our budget. But as always, we find a way to make it work. And, on the bright side, I realized it would give me time to review some key products that I haven't had the opportunity to use. Here are a few things we were able to try and things that I would strongly recommend if your pet injures their legs, their paws or their hips.


Last Updated on Monday, 21 October 2013 05:37
Read more...
 
Safe Treats for Dogs and Cats PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Thursday, 24 October 2013 18:46

This week, the FDA released a “progress report” on its investigation into jerky treats. The update is essentially that there is no progress and it’s still a “buyer beware” situation for anyone who feeds chicken, duck, turkey or sweet potato treats made from China to their pets.

You can read the full report here, but as of September 24, 2013, FDA has received more than 3000 complaints of illness related to consumption of chicken, duck, or sweet potato jerky treats, nearly all of which are imported from China. The reports involve more than 3600 dogs, 10 cats and include more than 580 deaths. And that’s just what has been reported...

This is why it’s so important to know where your pets treats are not only manufactured, but where the ingredients are sourced. We want to tell you about some safe treats for your pets that can be shared with either species and contains only ingredients guaranteed sourced from reputable suppliers, and manufactured in the good ole U S of A. Here are a few of our dogs and cats favorite treats from the top sources you can rely on.


Last Updated on Friday, 25 October 2013 16:49
Read more...
 
New Ways To Pill Your Dogs PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Monday, 21 October 2013 00:00

Recently, we had to take Brock in for an emergency. We weren't sure what was happening at the time, but as it turns out, he had gotten a little "weed that shall not be named" (a foxtail) caught in his foot. The small foxtail embedded itself so completely, we didn't know it was there. Brock's foot became infected, which caused a fever, which spiked his heart-rate and it was a whole thing... Anyway - you can read more about it here if you're interested. But, today we are talking about ways to medicate your pets.

Luckily for us, Brock is super easy to medicate. Actually, since we started feeding The Honest Kitchen, all of our dogs are very easy to medicate. They eat twice a day, so we just drop any medication in the food, stir, and everyone is totally happy to consume it.

But, there are a lot of dogs that are not easy to medicate and who are onto every trick in the book. Well, we've got some new tricks...


Last Updated on Friday, 18 October 2013 16:49
Read more...
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 6 of 30
RocketTheme Joomla Templates
Copyright ©2004 PetsWeekly All Rights Reserved