Search PetsWeekly

Product Reviews
Choosing the Right Pet Box PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Friday, 10 January 2014 00:00

Subscription boxes for pets are all the rage. For a fixed monthly fee, you can have a carefully curated box of pet supplies shipped right to your front door. It's a fun way to explore new products before you buy and learn about new products that your pets might love.

But before you sign up for that subscription box service, we wanted to let you know what's available and tell you a little about what we like (and don't like). This is a quick look at what we learned about the choices you have:


Last Updated on Friday, 10 January 2014 17:47
Read more...
 
Giving Back with 1-800-Pet-Meds PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Monday, 16 December 2013 17:29

As you know, we have been working closely with 1-800-PetMeds to offer a cornucopia of pet supplies to independent rescues over the past few months (if you haven't signed up to receive these donations, please fill out this form). There have been many who have benefited from this arrangement. During the Holiday Pet Festival, we were able to donate an extra large stroller to a group who has a large dog in recovery (he lost a leg and is learning how to cope), and after he has adjusted from surgery, it will be used to help hundreds of other animals cope in the interim.

We donated two telescoping ramps to two large dog rescues and I was simultaneously surprised, happy and sad when one of the women began crying at the donation. She had recently purchased a large SUV to more easily transport large shepherds with dysplasia to the veterinarian for treatment, but quickly learned that the SUV was too high for the dogs to climb into. This quite literally saved her after a recent back surgery (she was lifting dogs into cars despite the injury) and helped make the treatment protocol of an entire pack of animals a little easier.

These are the types of things that make my heart sing. I love being able to turn a product review into a donation. And fortunately, we are able to do a lot of that...


Last Updated on Monday, 16 December 2013 18:03
Read more...
 
Our Holiday Tradition: Footed Pajamas PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Wednesday, 11 December 2013 05:24

Growing up, Christmas was a special time in our house. We spent days decorating our home, we baked delectable goods for weeks prior to the event, and on Christmas Eve, we were all allowed to open one gift. The gift was always pajamas because my parents were big fans of making sure we always looked our best for Christmas day photos.

Usually these were footed pajamas, which made us look extra cute. We called them bunnies but I'm not sure why we called them that. All I know is that they made excellent slip-n-slide wear when we slid down the stairs and they were super warm in winter.

It’s a tradition that we have continued in our adult years. So, when FootedPajamas asked us if we would take a look at their matching footed pajamas for pets and people, we jumped at the chance. This is a fun way to begin the holidays - even if your kids have four legs instead of two.

As you can see, we had a great time with these pajamas. The ones you'll see in the pictures the Doggie Dream pajamas that Sam, my very supportive and playful husband, is modeling with Brock and Bree. It didn't take much to talk them into this because everyone loves being warm in winter and everyone loves having a good time. As you can see...


Read more...
 
The Advantages of Spiked Collars PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Sunday, 15 December 2013 19:05

Much like pit bulls (and Rotties and  Shepherds and Dobies), spike collars have gotten a bad rap over the years.  There is a lot more to this collar than meets the eye and like the “hoodie” – it’s important not to judge on first impressions.

We happen to love spike collars. Not only do they serve a purpose, they look good on nearly every type of dog.  But, what is their biggest benefit?

They protect the neck.

If you live in an area where coyotes are abundant, you will appreciate this fact. If you have a small dog, you should appreciate this fact. If you have a dog that goes to dog parks, you should appreciate this fact.


Last Updated on Sunday, 15 December 2013 20:22
Read more...
 
Zukes Offers Joint Support Treats (With Eggshell Membrane)! PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Wednesday, 20 November 2013 15:28

Recently, we were invited to explore the extensive line of treats from Zuke’s during their #FuelTheLove campaign. I have high expectations for pet products, and that means I expect treats to perform more than one function. For example, we want low-calorie treats that support joint health that are made in the United States, with ingredients sourced from the US. That’s why we were excited to find Zukes Hip Action & Joint Support Pet Treats.

We also want our pets to have access to a variety of proteins because different dogs prefer different things. Zukes also works on that level. Cheiss's favorite is wild rabbit. It’s a protein that is lean, chock full of great nutrients, and ideal for any breed. They also come in Roasted Chicken, Savory Salmon and Fresh Peanut Butter. You can pick up 6 oz pouches or 1-pound packs and each package is re-sealable (another big bonus).

Our animals are members of our family and that means we don’t “get rid of them” when they grow old.  We do, however, need to make a few adjustments as our large breed dogs approach “senior” status. At the moment, Cheiss is a card-holding member of the AARP (or he would be if he were human). He’s about 50 lbs, and he’s 13-years old. He’s grumpy, he has no tolerance for the “young’uns” and he just wants to chase his ball once a day and rest on his favorite heated bed the rest of the time. That's why joint support is so important.


Last Updated on Wednesday, 20 November 2013 16:34
Read more...
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 4 of 29
RocketTheme Joomla Templates
Copyright ©2004 PetsWeekly All Rights Reserved