Search PetsWeekly

Product Reviews
Traditional ID Tags for Every Pet PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Wednesday, 09 April 2014 00:00

This week, we were able to look at some “traditional” tags that are truly unconventional. Every animal needs an ID tag on their collar. It doesn't matter if they are microchipped or wearing a GPS tracker. If your dog escapes the yard or anything happens to you, people need to know that how to return your pet and whether or not it's had its rabies vaccination. That's a fact. If you don't have an ID tag on your pet, you need to invest in one of these right away.

We had the opportunity to look at a few different styles from WagTags and we are so very impressed with the quality that we had to pass the info along.

Most pet ID tags are made from soft aluminum or engraved plastic, and the lettering wears off in just a few months. Wag Tags are deeply engraved on durable, thick stainless steel. They also don’t hang off the collar and rub against other tags. These two factors help make Wag Tags so durable that they guarantee their tags will remain legible for the life of the pet. They are also lightweight, easy for pets to wear, and very beautiful.


Last Updated on Wednesday, 09 April 2014 14:49
Read more...
 
The Toughest Plush Toys for Tough Chewers PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Sunday, 30 March 2014 00:00

Chew toys are often described as indestructible, yet if you have a chewer, you know that there is no such thing as an indestructible chew toy – especially when it comes to our pets favored plush toys. The best we can hope for is a slightly less easily destroyed toy that will last longer than an hour. Good news, we have a few of them for you. If you have a heavy chewer that is prone to toy destruction, you’ll want to take a look at four of our favorite brands of plush chew toys that will last longer than any other plush toy on the market.

Remember, "indestructible" is a relative term. No plush toy will last against the heaviest of chewers for longer than a few hours, but we love that these hold up to the abuse nearly any dog can dish out - much better and a lot longer than other brands... If your dog absolutely gets through everything, and you're not independently wealthy, you may want to stick with the heavy duty solid rubber toys. But, for the dogs who love to chew soft things, these are the toys you'll want to stick with.


Last Updated on Friday, 28 March 2014 21:29
Read more...
 
Our Visit to Nature's Table PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Thursday, 13 March 2014 00:00

One of the many advantages to being a writer (besides the ability to work at home with my pets!) is being invited to special events that take me away from my pets.  Not that I like to be away from my pets – I don’t. But it’s nice to learn about a new product in a different setting.

This month, we were invited to Brooklyn, New York to learn about the launch of Innova’s newest addition to the food table, “Nature’s Table.”

I’m going to tell you about the dinner because it applies to the pet food. The dinner was inspired by the “Farm-to-table” movement, which if you read Pet Age magazine (and you should), you’ll see is mentioned as a trend in 2014. It’s more than a trend, though. It’s a way of life. Simple meals, easy preparation, and high-quality ingredients that are locally sourced. This is the way we should be eating. This is the way our pets should be eating...


Last Updated on Thursday, 20 March 2014 16:20
Read more...
 
PetsGeekly: Whistle is Wearable Tech for Dogs PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Saturday, 22 March 2014 00:00

We recently had the opportunity to spend a month with the Whistle Activity Tracking Monitor and we must say, it’s very impressive. The Whistle Activity Monitor is a sleek, lightweight on-collar device that enables you to see what your dog is doing at any given time. It’s the latest in “wearable tech” for dogs. It’s very accurate and quite helpful in making your pets life a better experience. While we received a free product for review, this has not influenced our review or opinion. All opinions stated are my own.

We tried it out on Cheiss. He’s our 13-year-old Australian Shepherd mix who has been dealing with some health problems lately. Arthritis is kicking in for our old boy, and his eyesight is failing. But, we’re determined to get him through everything we can while maintaining his quality of life. This is a great tool to help us measure that important metric through activity levels and feeding habits.

This tool allows us to monitor his good days and bad days, and best of all, it allows us to send all of his information directly to his veterinarian. That way, the vet can see at a glance what his eating habits are like, how he is doing on his new medication, and how that medication is impacting his overall health. Needless to say, our vet was also quite impressed with this program and plans to recommend it to his other patients!


Read more...
 
PetsGeekly: Helpful Pet Gadgets for an Automatic Life PDF Print E-mail
Written by Chris Long   
Thursday, 27 February 2014 00:00

Wouldn't it be terrible if your best friend didn't have a phone? Or keys to lock and unlock her house? Or fresh water to drink whenever he is thirsty? Luckily, most of our best friends are fine in this regard – most of our human best friends, that is. But don't worry: the technology exists to bring our furry, four legged buddies up to speed! Automatic products can be effective middlemen to help you and your pet communicate and live in harmony. Check out these ingenious gadgets that make caring for your pet's needs easier than you'd even imagined possible:


Last Updated on Thursday, 20 March 2014 16:24
Read more...
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 4 of 31
RocketTheme Joomla Templates
Copyright ©2004 PetsWeekly All Rights Reserved