Search PetsWeekly

Product Reviews
Real Weight Loss Results from Hills Metabolic Cat Food PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Tuesday, 17 June 2014 19:37

One of the biggest questions we’re asked here at PetsWeekly is how can I make my pet lose weight? It’s also one of the toughest to answer. Some pets, no matter how little you feed them or how often you exercise, just can’t seem to lose weight.  This week, we’re looking at a way to help your pets lose weight without forcing him to change on a behavioral or physical level. It requires little more than a change in diet. Weight loss for pets is achievable with Hill’s Metabolic Advanced Weight Solution.

We wanted to see how this worked in the real world, so we asked our friend Paris Permenter from Cat Tipper if we could discuss their personal experience with Hills Metabolic Cat Food. Like us, Paris has a multi-cat household and this makes weight loss for only one cat particularly challenging. (We have talked about many ways you can successfully feed individual diets within multi-cat homes and we hope you’ll review our article on how to do this).


Last Updated on Tuesday, 17 June 2014 19:57
Read more...
 
Dressing Your Pet for Special Occasions PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Sunday, 13 April 2014 00:00

If you know anything about me, you know I’m not a huge fan of dressing up my pets. It’s just not something I grew up doing. I’ve spent most of my life with large dogs. Wild breeds, like wolf hybrids and coyotes and big pits and shepherds. To have dressed these dogs up would have been like making a teenage boys wear his hair in pigtails.

But, then I got Bree and Brock, both of whom are very keen on being dressed up in cold weather.  These dogs pull blankets off the couch to cover themselves up when I have the air conditioning too low.

I wrote a couple of stories on pet fashion for several industry publications and during my research, I interviewed Ada Nieves about her pet fashion projects. I learned the New York Fashion Institute even has a course tract designed specifically for pet fashion, and I discovered that I may have been wrong all these years.

There are “levels” of dressing up pets that don’t require you or your pet to look snobbish. And let’s face it – playing dress up can be fun on occasion. And we love the simpler looks for our cats!


Last Updated on Monday, 14 April 2014 19:49
Read more...
 
A Look at the Samsung Pet Cam PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Friday, 01 November 2013 00:00

One of the biggest anxieties I have about leaving the house is how my pets are doing at home. Are they sleeping? Getting into the garbage? Eating through a wall? (Yes, it's happened). Are my cats getting along okay in the enclosure? Is Fedex going to deliver a package and cause an uproar?

While these may not be problems for the “average” pet owner, I know that many of my readers experience this same type of anxiety. It impacts travel arrangements, work schedules, visiting friends and relatives, and even just leaving pets with a sitter.

Samsung has addressed that problem with the Samsung Pet Cam Wifi Video Pet Monitor. Read on to learn more about the pet cam - just in time for the stressful holidays when you have to leave your pets home alone once in awhile.

The Samsung PetCam WiFi Video Pet Monitor has really thought of everything in this new wireless camera. The claim they make is "anytime, anywhere viewing" and they hold true to this claim. The camera is simple to set up, easy to use with the apps, and has phenomenal picture and night vision!

Here's a look at the many features of the Samsung Pet Cam and a few videos we captured of our cats...


Last Updated on Friday, 21 March 2014 20:48
Read more...
 
Ingredients and Sourcing of Pet Food PDF Print E-mail
Written by Pack Leader   
Tuesday, 15 October 2013 19:09
This is a sponsored post; we have been compensated by Hill’s Pet Nutrition. Hill’s Pet Nutrition is not responsible for the content of this article.

When we stroll down the aisles seeking out the perfect pet food, there are thousands of things to consider.  Not only do you have to move beyond the claims made by pet food manufacturers, you have to consider the nutritional analysis, ingredient lists, packaging, testing protocols, and more.  These days you need to be a nutritional expert, and also have degrees in agriculture, marketing, manufacturing, and biology to really understand a label!

There are always questions when it comes to reading pet food labels – but one of the most important questions, which is also one of the most overlooked, is where ingredients are sourced. The places where ingredients are sourced are just as important as the ingredient itself.

One of the foods we began investigating recently is the new Hill’s® Ideal Balance™.


Last Updated on Tuesday, 15 October 2013 19:20
Read more...
 
Choosing a harness for your cat PDF Print E-mail
Written by Stacy Mantle   
Wednesday, 25 September 2013 02:00

If you’re planning on taking your cat out in the yard or for a walk, we really can’t emphasize the importance of keeping them secured. Cats can disappear in a single second, so in our opinion, a walking vest is a “must have” item for any cats heading outdoors. (That doesn't mean you can get away with no collar or no microchip - both are just as important, if not more so, than a walking vest!)

A walking vest allows superior control for cats during visits to the vet, walks through the neighborhood, or even just a morning on the catio. Collars are very easy for cats to slip out of, and the days of the "single strand" harnesses fashioned for dogs are over. A cat's anatomy allows them to easily slip out of the nylon rope-type harness, so make sure you select the proper equipment when taking your cat for a walk.

Cats can be particularly difficult to fit in a harness. When selecting a walking vest, the most important consideration should be selecting a harness that fits properly. There is no feeling more horrifying than watching a cat bolting away from you while you stand helplessly holding a leash attached to an empty harness.

Since their anatomy naturally allows for easy escape from predators, it can be difficult to secure your feline friend in a way that is comfortable. Walking vests make that possible (just see how comfortable Cassie is in modeling these beautiful vests!). So, be certain that your cat cannot escape their harness, never rely on a collar, and always consider safety before style. Here are a few hints on how to choose a harness for your cat and our two favorite types of harnesses for our cats.


Last Updated on Saturday, 28 September 2013 20:38
Read more...
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 2 of 14
RocketTheme Joomla Templates
Copyright ©2004 PetsWeekly All Rights Reserved